Australian Women’s squad for CommBank Tour of India

Australian Women’s squad for CommBank Tour of India

Australian Women's squad for CommBank Tour of India - eLanka (2)

  • The National Selection Panel (NSP) has named the following 16-player women’s squad for the CommBank Tour of India in December/January. Australia plays one Test, three One-Day Internationals and three T20 Internationals against India in a multi-format series across two venues in Mumbai over the Christmas and New Year period.

    Australian Women’s squad

  • Darcie Brown (SA / Adelaide Strikers / Northern Districts CC)
  • Lauren Cheatle (NSW / Sydney Sixers / Campbelltown Camden District CC)*
  • Heather Graham (TAS / Hobart Hurricanes / Clarence District CC)
  • Ashleigh Gardner (NSW / Sydney Sixers / Bankstown CC)
  • Kim Garth (VIC / Melbourne Stars / Dandenong CC)
  • Grace Harris (QLD / Brisbane Heat / Western Suburbs CC)**
  • Alyssa Healy (NSW / Sydney Sixers / Sydney CC)
  • Jess Jonassen (QLD / Brisbane Heat / Valley Districts CC)
  • Alana King (WA / Perth Scorchers / Midland Guildford CC)
  • Phoebe Litchfield (NSW / Sydney Thunder / Sydney University CC)
  • Tahlia McGrath (SA / Adelaide Strikers / Glenelg CC)
  • Beth Mooney (WA / Perth Scorchers / Sandgate-Redcliffe CC)
  • Ellyse Perry (VIC / Sydney Sixers / Dandenong CC)
  • Megan Schutt (SA / Adelaide Strikers / Sturt CC)
  • Annabel Sutherland (VIC / Melbourne Stars / Prahran CC)
  • Georgia Wareham (VIC / Melbourne Renegades / Essendon Maribyrnong Park CC)
    *Test squad only
    **T20 squad only
  • Australian Women's squad for CommBank Tour of India - eLanka (2)New South Wales bowler Lauren Cheatle, who made her international debut in 2016 as a 17-year-old, returns to an Australian squad for the first time since March 2019.

    After several injury-plagued seasons, which included four shoulder reconstructions in five years, Cheatle has led the Sydney Sixers bowling unit with 19 wickets through ten Weber Women’s Big Bash League matches this season.

    The left-arm quick’s WBBL form follows a successful tour of England with Australia A in June, where she took 11 wickets across five matches.

    Following Meg Lanning’s retirement from international cricket, an ongoing Australian Women’s Captain will be announced ahead of the tour.

    Every match of Australia’s CommBank Tour of India will be broadcast live on Kayo Sports and Foxtel.

    CA’s Head of Performance (Women’s Cricket) and National Selector, Shawn Flegler said:
    “A multi-format series against India in India is exciting and presents a huge challenge for our group.

    “Most of our players, through last December’s bilateral series or the WPL, have played cricket in Mumbai over the past 12 months and have experienced the conditions.

    “We’ll have an opportunity to acclimatise to the conditions and our preparation in Mumbai will include a warm-up match against a local opposition.

    “Lauren Cheatle has overcome significant injury setbacks and thoroughly deserves her place in the squad through her performances over the past six months.

    “Lauren has playing experience in India and provides another fast-bowling option, particularly in regard to the Test match which is the format she has been selected for.

    “At this stage, we’re planning for Lauren to return to Australia ahead of the white ball formats to play WNCL.

    “Darcie Brown missed the last two ODIs against the West Indies with a hamstring injury but is back bowling and is on track to be available for Test selection.

    “Alyssa Healy’s finger is healing but remains in a splint and our medical team are continuing to monitor her recovery closely. We’re obviously very hopeful she will be available for the Test, but those decisions are still a while away.

    “We have commenced the process to confirm an ongoing Captain appointment, which will be confirmed closer to the tour.”


Comments are closed.