Dinusha Bandara to officiate WBBL matches

Dinusha Bandara to officiate WBBL matches

Dinusha Bandara to officiate WBBL matches - eLanka

*He will be considered as a fourth umpire in KFC Big Bash League this season

Dinusha Bandara is the only member of STUP with Sri Lankan diaspora, who will officiate the ongoing Weber WBBL matches in this season.

In a remarkable move, Cricket Australia, 8 out of 35 members of State and Territory Umpire Panels (STUP) for the 2023/24 season announced by Cricket Australia has a South Asian family heritage.

Apart from Bandara, the four STUP members hails from India while three have Pakistan backgorund.

Alongside Premier Cricket commitments, members of respective STUPs will be appointed to officiate in CA competitions including the Weber Women’s Big Bash League, Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL), Toyota Second XI, CA Underage National Championships and as Fourth Umpires in the KFC Big Bash League.

Dinusha Bandara (Sri Lanka), Syed Humayun (Pakistan), Sharad Patel (India), Daval Bhatt (India), Harsimran Singh (India), Muhammad Qureshi (Pakistan), Gaurav Bawa (India), Ahmad Khan (Pakistan).

Additionally, six women have also been included in the panel (Claire Polosak, Eloise Sheridan, Clare Haysom, Lisa McCabe, Ashlee Gibbons and Kate Holloman). Haysom and Holloman have been named on the panel for the first time.

CA congratulates all match officials on their respective appointments.

Comments are closed.